plus Created with Sketch. ! arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up Asset 9Asset 7Asset 2 Group 2 Created with Sketch. Rectangle 11 Copy 4 Created with Sketch. Asset 6 close Asset 5 Icon/news/default Asset 20 arrow Created with Sketch. edit Group Created with Sketch. Icon/Learning/Active Icon/Learning/Inactive Shape Asset 10 instagram linkedin Asset 8 Icon/news/default menu send-2 Created with Sketch. Asset 3 pin Asset 14 search share Asset 15Asset 16Asset 19 twitter Asset 11

2023 Chloe Munro Scholarship recipients announced

Among a large number of strong applications received from every state and territory, the Clean Energy Council is proud to announce the successful recipients of the 2023 Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership.

Now in its third year, the Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership focuses on supporting women who are emerging leaders in the fields of clean energy, energy management and carbon abatement and is delivered in partnership with our official Education Provider, Women & Leadership Australia.

AEMO’s Sera Tarpis, who will now undertake a Leading Edge course, said there are plenty of talented women ready to lead Australia’s clean energy transformation, and that greater diversity in the clean energy workforce, will lead to better outcomes.

“Programs such as the Chloe Munro Scholarship aim to nurture young talent, and prepare an abundance of talented women to take on more leadership roles.”

The Executive Ready winners are:

  • Sharon Tissai-Krishna – Associate Technical Director, Ampyr Energy
  • Claire Whiteway – National Development Lead E&P, Aurecon
  • Dr. Madeline Taylor – Director of Research Training, Macquarie University
  • Catherine Fetherstonhaugh – Head of Commercial Asset Management, RES

The Leading Edge winners are:

  • Maiken Hansen - Commercial Manager, Green Energy Partners
  • Sera Tarpis – Engineer, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)
  • Jessica Holt – Generation Technician, Hydro Tasmania
  • Alice Moore – Principal Policy Officer, Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA)
  • Gemma Harrison – Hydrogen Business Development Manager, Ampol Australia
  • Manuela Londoño Ferro – Business Development Lead, Raygen
  • Lara Panjkov – Growth & Market Development Senior Manager, Fluence

Four recipients will undertake the Executive Ready course, a seven-month development program for middle to senior leaders, and seven recipients will undertake the Leading Edge course, a four-month development program for early-career leaders and managers.

“We’re excited to welcome more talented women from different segments of the industry and from different parts of Australia into an expanded scholarship program, which itself speaks to the high calibre of applications received,” said Clean Energy Council Chief Executive, Kane Thornton.

“Women are at the centre of a just transition, and we know that the future of Australia’s clean energy workforce champions greater diversity in its ranks.

“Networking opportunities, mentorship and support networks play a fundamental role in encouraging more women to join the industry that will be critical to Australia’s future success and continued prosperity over coming decades.”

The Chloe Munro Scholarship for Transformational Leadership has been established through the leadership of the Clean Energy Council and is supported by our partners the Victorian Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action, ACEN Australia, the Australian Energy Market Operator, the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, the Carbon Market Institute, the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, CleanCo Queensland, the Energy Efficiency Council, GreenCollar, Hydro Tasmania, Iberdrola Australia, Sentient Impact Group and Squadron Energy.

More information about the Clean Energy Council’s Women in Renewables Program can be found on our website.


For more information or to arrange an interview, contact:

Liam Straughan
Clean Energy Council Media Officer
[email protected]
+61 409 470 683